Food Review – Extract Espresso, 1/190 Main Road, Kumeu

I have tried most coffee stops between Muriwai via West Harbour to Albany on my daily trip to work, varying stops each day depending where my mood takes me. That has changed since discovering Extract Espresso in Kumeu which has now become my only daily coffee stop.

At Extract a large flat white still means lots of flavour, not just extra milk. The Supreme Boxer coffee bean they use offers a good rich malty coffee kick while keeping it smooth. But it’s not all in the bean, great coffee has to be attributed to the Barista and the calm and caring approach that is so obvious at Extract Espresso certainly reflects in the end result with every cup.

As well as excellent coffee there are always daily fresh and often warm from the oven scones, almond croissants, muffins and my favourite cinnamon brioche scrolls. They also have a small but well selected breakfast/brunch menu which I have not yet tried but watch in envy as the plates pass me while waiting for my coffee in the morning.

The café is spacious and bright with a relaxed atmosphere, offering a wide variety of magazine to read suggesting that you would be welcome to wile away a few hours here without anyone minding. So if you haven’t yet found Extract and love your coffee do pop by, they’re next to the VTNZ building.

Opening Hours: Mon – Friday 07.00 – 15:30. Saturday’s 08:00 – 14:00

– Allison Pirrie Mawer

Leave a comment